Child Passenger Safety Restraints or car seats are important to keeping your children safe. Seat belts aren’t made to protect smaller bodies, so a car seat gives the extra protection they need to be secure. As your child grows, they need a different type of car seat to stay safe.
The Oklahoma State Department of Health reports that 4 out of 5 children aren’t as secure in their car seats as they should be because parents don’t always know how to use them properly. When used correctly, car seats help hold kids in their seats in a crash, protect their head and spinal cord and use a wide surface area of contact to reduce harmful force.
Here, we have included Oklahoma’s car seat laws. Though typically divided by age, you can also look on your car seat for height and weight regulations.
Birth to 2 years
Children under the age of 2 years old must ride securely in a rear-facing seat.
2 to 4 years
Under the age of 4 years old, children use a car seat that faces forward. It needs to have an internal and five-point harness. It’s recommended that your child uses this seat until they exceed the weight limit, not just until they turn 4.
4 to 8 years
Between ages 4 and 8 or until they grow to be over 4 feet 9 inches and can properly use a seat belt, children should use a booster seat.
8 years or older
Once children reach age 8 or are too tall for a booster seat, they can use the seat belt installed in your car.
Children under 13 years old should not ride in the front seat because the airbags could be dangerous for them in the event of a crash.
Oklahoma is the only state in the country that doesn’t legally require children over the age of 8 to wear seatbelts while riding in the back seat. However, the smartest way to keep you and your kids safe is to wear a seat belt and use the proper car seat every time you get in a vehicle.